Zodiac signs: months, dates and order

The 12 signs of the zodiac are in the order of the astrological houses: Aries, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisc

These twelve signs are divided into four elements : fire, earth, air and water. Each sign being subdivided into 3 parts that we call decan.

What Are The Dates for every Star Sign? Whats is my zodiac sign? What is January zodiac?

The twelve signs of the zodiac in the right order.
The 12 signs of the zodiac in good order

Zodiac signs and dates

The zodiac year starting at the spring equinox, we have listed the twelve signs of the zodiac by respecting the order of the astrological houses. Aries (March 21 - April 20) is the first sign of the zodiac and Pisces (February 19 - March 20) the last. A month-by-month summary table is available at the bottom of the page.

Zodiac signs Dates Symbols Elements
Aries March 21 - April 20 Fire
Taurus April 21 - May 20 Earth
Gemini May 21 - June 21 Air
Cancer June 22 - July 22 Water
Leo July 23 - August 22 Fire
Virgo August 23 - September 22 Earth
Libra September 23 - October 22 Air
Scorpio October 23 - November 22 Water
Sagittarius November 23 - December 21 Fire
Capricorn December 22 - January 20 Earth
Aquarius January 21 - February 18 Air
Pisces February 19 - March 20 Water
Dates, symbols and elements of the 12 zodiac signs sorted by order of the astrological houses.

Infographic of the twelve astrological signs of the zodiac:
names, dates and symbols

Our infographic lists the twelve astrological signs of the zodiac. We have specified the start and end dates of each sign as well as the symbols (simplified representations of the constellations) associated with them.

Astrological signs of the zodiac: dates and symbols.

Zodiac signs month by month

The table below lists the signs of the zodiac month by month according to their order of appearance in the annual calendar.

Month Zodiac sign starting the month Zodiac sign ending the month
January Capricorn Aquarius
February Aquarius Pisces
March Pisces Aries
April Aries Taurus
May Taurus Gemini
June Gemini Cancer
July Cancer Leo
August Leo Virgo
September Virgo Libra
October Libra Scorpio
November Scorpio Sagittarius
December Sagittarius Capricorn
The order of appearance of the astrological signs in the annual calendar is therefore as follows: Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces, Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio and Sagittarius.

Astrological sign of the zodiac and decan

In astrology each of the twelve signs of the zodiac is divided into 3 decans. Knowledge of the decan helps to strengthen or qualify the characteristics of a zodiac sign.

Zodiac sign 1st decan 2nd decan 3rd decan
Aries March 21 to March 30 March 31 to April 9 April 10 to April 20
Taurus April 21 to April 30 May 1 to May 10 May 11 to May 20
Gemini May 21 to May 31 June 1 to June 10 June 11 to June 21
Cancer June 22 to July 1 July 2 to July 11 July 12 to July 22
Leo July 23 to August 1 August 2 to August 12 August 13 to August 22
Virgo August 23 to September 3 September 4 to September 13 September 14 to September 22
Libra September 23 to October 2 October 3 to October 13 October 14 to October 22
Scorpio October 23 to November 2 November 3 to November 12 November 13 to November 22
Sagittarius November 23 to December 2 December 3 to December 12 December 13 to December 21
Capricorn December 22 to December 31 January 1 to January 10 January 11 to January 20
Aquarius January 21 to January 30 January 31 to February 9 February 10 to February 18
Pisces February 19 to February 29 March 1 to March 10 From March 11 to March 20
Summary table of the dates of the three decans for each zodiac sign.

Zodiac signs sorted by element

The twelve signs of the zodiac are classified into four elements: Fire, Earth, Air and Water. Each element includes 3 signs which you will find in the table below. For more information ( months, dates and decans) we invite you to click on the zodiac sign of your choice.

The twelve zodiac signs sorted by element
Fire Earth Air Water
Aries Taurus Gemini Cancer
Leo Virgo Libra Scorpio
Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces

Page updated March 26, 2023